A committee to evaluate new companies for importing petroleum

A committee has been appointed to evaluate suitable companies for import, distribution and marketing of petroleum products.
Power and Energy Minister Kanchana Wijesekera said in a Twitter message that this committee was appointed yesterday.
He mentioned that several companies will be able to engage in the petroleum industry in Sri Lanka in addition to the Ceylon Petroleum Statutory Corporation and the Ceylon Indian Oil Corporation.

Meanwhile, an eight-member committee was appointed yesterday to restructure the Ceylon Electricity Board.
The minister said that the committee is tasked with proposing recommendations for restructuring within a month.
Former Secretary of the Ministry of Finance Dr. RHS Samaratunga, former Secretary of the Ministry of Power and Energy M.M.C. Ferdinando, former CEMB General Manager Dr. Susantha Perera and a group of officials are included.

Other committee members are as follows…
Thilan Wijesinghe - Former Chairman, Board of Investments
Saliya Wickramasuriya - Chairman, Petroleum Development Authority and Director General, Port City Economic Commission
President's Counsel Nihal Jayawardene - Former Legal Adviser, State Enterprise Reform Commission
Advocate Harsha Fe ando - Former Senior Gove ment Advocate in the Atto ey General's Department
Chandana Wijesinghe - Director, Ministry of Power and Energy