01 December 2022
සිංහල | English

Charitha Herath is nominated for the post of COPE Chairman

Mr. Sajith Premadasa, the opposition leader, has proposed to nominate the former chairman of the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE), Prof. Charita Herath, to the new committee.

Speaking to the Parliament today, MP Premadasa said that Dr. Harsha De Silva, Member of Parliament of Samagi Jana Balavega, who was appointed as a member of that committee, took an independent decision to leave the COPE committee.

He further said that the opposition has decided to propose Professor Charitha Herath for the vacant post of MP.
According to reports, Dr. Harsha de Silva has voluntarily decided not to join the COPF committee due to his work as the chairman of the Committee on Public Finance (COPF).

The COPE committee of 27 members was announced by the speaker yesterday, and the name of Professor Charitha Herath was not included in it.
Commenting on the new COPE committee, Professor Herath strongly criticized the gove ment, especially President Ranil Wickremesinghe and Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena for removing his name.